Eyesalight _banner3

Botb2015 winnersBand members from all three Harpenden senior schools performed at the Battle of the Bands 2015 in St George’s School, Harpenden.

Six piece rock band, One Year Left, won ‘Best Cover Performance’ for their rendition of ‘Lonely Boy’ by the Black Keys and funk band, ATLAS won  the highly coveted ‘Best Original Performance’ for their own  song  ‘Free’.

The other bands taking part included, Switchblade Attitude, The Whales, Soul Revival and Red Horizon – all comprised of under eighteens from St John Lawes, Roundwood Park and St George’s senior schools.

Voice of BBC Three Counties Radio Gareth Lloyd presented the event, sharing his experience of working with ‘BBC Introducing’ to help launch the careers of musicians like Jake Bugg, Rizzle Kicks and James Bay. Gareth was joined by a host of celebrity judges including Kate Mullins and Emma Smith from the  international acclaimed Vintage-Swing-Punk group The Pupinni sisters, music producer Michael Pearce and Anni Williams, voice coach for Britain’s Got Talent and X Factor.

The judging was executed X Factor style, with judges giving their feedback in front of a live audience. The judges were impressed with the talent of the bands and were delighted to see a vast range of home-grown young talent from Harpenden. During the judges’ deliberations, the audience were treated to a surprise guest performance by singer songwriter and St. George’s school student Emma McGrath, who has recently performed at the legendary 100 Club in London.

The event was organised by Harpenden Lions to raise money for the Eyes Alight appeal for the Brain Injury Rehabilitation Trust (BIRT) and Lions Charities. The Eyes Alight share will go towards new facilities at Kent House in Aylesbury, a specialist residential centre providing continuing rehabilitation and specialist care and support for people with acquired brain injury.
The Eyes Alight appeal was set up by Izzy Judd  and her family after her brother Rupert Johnston suffered serious brain injury in a near fatal car accident. Rupert received expert rehabilitation from the BIRT and is a resident at Kent House.

Winning Band details
Best Cover Performance – ‘One Year Left’ playing ‘Lonely Boy’ by Black Keys. Band members: Mark Burrell (Lead Vocals/Guitar), Stan Green (Backing Vocals/Guitar), Harry Osborne (Lead Guitar/Backing Vocals), Barney Weightman (Bass/Backing Vocals), Kris Dodd (Keyboards), Tom Slack (Drums). Their prize is tickets to see McBusted in their ‘“Alive@Delapre 2015”concert in Northampton, courtesy of Harry and Izzy Judd.
Best Original Composition and Performance – ‘ATLAS’ playing ‘Free’. Band members: Arthur Diesbecq (Guitar/Bass and Vocals), Ben Ephgrave (Piano/Saxophone), Brady Hull (Guitar/Bass), Harry Osborne (Guitar/Vocals), Alex Price (Drums). They win a Studio Recording Session at Grand Chapel Studios, Tring, courtesy of owner Anneliese Shaw and producer Michael Pearce.